High achievers: Four South County girls volleyball teams advance to state playoffs

It was a bountiful harvest for South County high school girls volleyball teams this fall: two league champions, four CIF finalists, two CIF champions and four teams in the state playoffs,

Eastlake won the Mesa League championship with a 10-0 league record and advanced to the Open Division playoffs. The Lady Titans failed to advance past the quarterfinals but did get a bonus invitation to the Southern California regional playoffs.

Eastlake (23-9) spiked Temecula Great Oak 3-0 to advance to the second round of the state playoffs against top-seeded Huntington Beach, which defeated the Lady Titans 3-1.

Olympian made school history by winning its third consecutive CIF division title — and second consecutive Division II championship. However, the Lady Eagles (25-10) ended their season with a loss to Mission Hills Alemany in the opening round of the regional playoffs.

Chula Vista Learning Community Charter defeated fellow South County private school San Diego Academy to win the section’s Division V championship. But the Lady Cobras ended their otherwise noteworthy season with a loss in the opening round of the state playoffs.

Otay Ranch advanced to the CIF finals for the second consecutive season, finishing runner-up this year to Del Norte. The Lady Mustangs (28-8) did top seventh-seeded Santa Ana Foothill in the opening round of the state playoffs.

Otay Ranch ended its season with a 3-1 loss at second-seeded Lakewood St. Joseph in the quarterfinals.

Metro Conference All-League Teams
First Team

Kristen Abels (Eastlake)
Jacqui Van Liefde (Eastlake)
Hannia Berrera (Eastlake)
Grecia Cordero (Otay Ranch)
Lauren Appelman (Olympian)
Pani Napoleon (Bonita Vista)

Second Team

Audrey Rose Hutchinson (Eastlake)
Anissa Vera (Eastlake)
Shannon Casey (Otay Ranch)
Karen Cordero (Otay Ranch)
Yvette Macias (Olympian)
Isabella Isaia (Montgomery)

Player of the Year
Kristen Abels (Eastlake)

Team Champion
Eastlake High School

First Team

Haniel McKee (Sweetwater) 12
Cheyenne Martinez (Sweetwater) 12
Alejandra Zavala (Hilltop) 12
Ana James (Mar Vista) 11
Karen Bolivar (San Ysidro) 12
Mareta Poe (Castle Park) 11

Second Team
Estefany Garcia (Sweetwater) 11
Martha Flores (Sweetwater) 12
Frances Carreon (Hilltop) 12
Helenia Cartegena (Hilltop) 11
Naylhea Serrano (Southwest) 10
Soveida Rodriguez (Chula Vista) 12

Player of the Year

Haniel McKee (Sweetwater)

Team Co-Champions

Sweetwater High School
Hilltop High School