? The Star-News | Chula Vista Star News

use comma(,) if mutliple email addresses i.e(friend@domain.com, friend2@domain.com)

Watson, San Ysidro Cougars are must-sees in 2011-12 boys basketball season Phillip Brents | Fri, Dec 16 2011 11:34 AM

The San Ysidro High School boys basketball team advanced as far as the San Diego Section Division I quarterfinals in 2010-11, losing 99-91 to the Johnny Dee-led Rancho Buena Vista Longhorns. Dee is now a freshman star at the University of San Diego. But back on the court for the Cougars is senior star point guard Javion Watson.

That’s enough to make San Ysidro dangerous — and a team to watch in 2011-12.

The Cougars wrapped up an otherwise stellar 2010-11 campaign with a 21-9 record, including a 9-3 showing as the South Bay League co-champion with the Southwest Raiders.

San Ysidro is off to a 3-2 start this season. Its two losses are to the top-ranked La Costa Canyon Mavericks and the third-ranked Hoover Cardinals.

The Cougars tipped off 2011-12 by defeating Poway, 66-52, on Dec. 1 as Watson poured in 22 points. San Ysidro made it a 2-0 start by felling Mira Mesa, 73-51, two days later. Watson had 29 points in that game.

The Cardinals handed the Cougars their first loss of the season, 79-61, as part of the Titan Tip-off Classic on Dec. 5. San Ysidro rebounded to defeat host Bonita Vista, 77-33, in a non-league match-up on Dec. 7.

Watson scored 33 points while teammate Fernando Ahumada grabbed 15 rebounds in the win over the Barons. Dejuan Owens paced Bonita Vista with 11 points.

The Mavericks topped the Cougars, 66-47, in last Friday’s Titan Tip-off semifinals, sending San Ysidro to the tournament sidelines along with Grossmont (a 77-51 semifinal loser to the Cardinals).
Hoover and LCC met in last Saturday’s championship game, with the Mavs (5-0) recording an 83-74 victory behind 25 points from Matt Shrigley. The Cardinals dropped to 5-1.

Senior forward Christian Love earned honors as San Ysidro’s MaxPreps Player of the Week for Nov. 27-Dec. 3. Watson holds down the current honor after averaging 23.8 points per game in five games.

Watson averaged 18.7 points per game last season.

Hilltop tournament
Torrey Pines defeated Mission Bay, 61-46, in last Friday’s finals of the annual Hilltop tournament.

Hilltop’s Jason Welchance made the all-tournament team. Torrey Pines’ Joe Rahon was named tourney MVP.

Rahon poured in 33 points in the Falcons’ win over the Bucs. Welchance had 21 points in Hilltop’s 58-47 loss to Monte Vista last Friday.

Teams also participating in the eight-team event included Monte Vista, Westview, Rancho Buena Vista, San Diego and Helix.

Other all-tournament team selections included Monte Vista’s James Jackson, Westview’s Sam Okhotin, RBV’s Anthony Alston, San Diego’s Adam Lacey, Torrey Pines’ Garrett Galvan and Seam Milmoe and Mission Bay’s Jerald Albritton and James Cloud.

Eagles Holiday Classic
It was right from the football gridiron to the basketball hardwood for several Olympian Eagles last week. The football season ended Dec. 5 with a runner-up finish to the Cathedral Catholic Dons at Qualcomm Stadium. But Akeem Foxworth, Christopher Humphrey, Jordan Fagan and Christien Humphrey quickly changed uniforms to participate in a 66-20 hops victory over Castle Park the following day.

Fagan and Foxworth each had six points in the win over the Trojans.

The gridiron stars increased their presence on the hardwood to lead Olympian to a 91-24 victory over Chula Vista High Tech in a home court tournament game on Dec. 8.

Christopher Humphrey led the Eagles with 14 points while Christien Humphrey had 12 points and Foxworth scored 10 points.

Olympian defeated Vincent Memorial, 58-42, to capture last Saturday’s third place tournament game. Christopher Humphrey led the Eagles with 14 points.

The win was the fourth in a row for Olympian after a season opening 68-58 loss to Oceanside on Dec. 5 without its complement of football players.

Olympian’s Billy Moses earned a spot on the all-tournament team along with Castle Park’s Aaron Leon, CV High Tech’s Victor Cruz, Chula Vista’s Ray Holden and Mater Dei Catholic’s Spencer Vering.

San Marcos defeated Oceanside, 63-43, to capture the tourney title.

Also earning all-tourney honors were High Tech San Diego’s Alex Kawamoto, Preuss’ Marcus Nash, Vincent Memorial’s Richie Murillo, Oceanside’s Jeff Crangle and San Marco’ Alex Preciado. San Marcos’ Cole Preston earned the MVP award.

Sports Photo Gallery
Rate This Article 0 vote(s)
Average Vote 0/5
Leave Comment

(will not be published)


The Star-News | 296 3rd Ave., Chula Vista, CA 91910 | Phone: 619-427-3000 | Fax: 619-426-6346 | info@thestarnews.com| Site Feedback| Corporate