? The Star-News | Chula Vista Star News

use comma(,) if mutliple email addresses i.e(friend@domain.com, friend2@domain.com)

South County all-stars aim to shine in 21st Spanos Classic Phillip Brents | Sat, Jul 23 2011 12:23 AM

Sixteen South County standouts from the 2010 high school football season will be honored on Friday, July 8, after being selected to play in the 21st annual Alex Spanos Senior All-Star Classic.

Kick-off is 7:30 p.m. at Mesa College.

Friday’s game pits top graduated seniors from throughout San Diego County. The Metro Conference players will compete for the South team alongside players from East County and the City Conference against the North team.

The sizable South County presence is braced by six players from defending Metro-Mesa League champion Eastlake, three from 2010 Metro-Pacific League champion Olympian and two from Metro-South Bay League champion Mar Vista.

Otay Ranch commands additional respect with three players from its 2010 Metro-Mesa runner-up team while Metro-Pacific runner-up Montgomery will be represented by two players.
Mt. Miguel’s Tom Karlo will coach the South team while San Marcos’ San Marcos’ Robert Cendro will coach the North team.

The North team won last year’s game 27-3.

Heading the list of South County participants are a trio of Cal Poly San Luis Obispo recruits: Chris Fletcher, Jordan Hines and Fernando Cabico. The trio is joined by three former Eastlake teammates: linebacker Clark Moses (San Jose State), offensive lineman Nikko Sanchez (San Diego State) and offensive lineman Ben Galleta (SDSU).

Also hoping to make an impact for the South team this year is a trio of former Otay Ranch stars: linebacker Kyle Doton (SDSU), defensive lineman Jon Bajet (Humboldt State) and offensive lineman Jonathan Henkel (SDSU).

Olympian will be represented by linebacker Roderick Castillo (Southwestern), quarterback Cobrin Humphrey (Menlo College) and offensive lineman David Nieblas (Grossmont) while Mar Vista’s all-star selections include linebacker Ruben Gonzales (Marine Corps) and defensive lineman Anthony Rodriguez (Southwestern).

Rounding out the group of Metro all-stars from Montgomery are running back Diego Rodriguez (Grossmont) and offensive lineman B.J. Dioquino (Southwestern).

Fletcher earned honors as the 2010 Metro-Mesa League Offensive Player of the Year while Cabico was named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Humphrey and Rodriguez shared the offensive MVP award from the Metro-Pacific League while Castillo was named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Fletcher rushed for 666 yards, tacked on 389 receiving yards, scored 10 touchdowns and collected three interceptions playing on the defensive side of the line of scrimmage.

Rodriguez rushed for 2,360 yards and scored 31 touchdowns in helping lead the Aztecs to an 8-4 season finish with a trip to the Division III quarterfinals.

Humphrey passed for 1,083 yards, threw 10 touchdown passes and rushed for 254 additional yards to go with three rushing touchdowns in Olympian’s historic run to the Division IV semifinals.

On the defensive side of the football, Cabico made five interceptions and 56 tackles.
Gonzales keyed Mar Vista’s 7-4 season finish with 778 rushing yards, 244 receiving yards and nine TDs.

Admission to Friday’s game is $8 (12-older), $5 (ages 5-12) and free (children 4 and younger).

Passing tournament
The annual South County Passing Tournament is scheduled Friday and Saturday (July 8-9) at Southwestern College. Area high school teams competing include Bonita Vista, Hilltop, Eastlake, Otay Ranch, Olympian, Chula Vista, Castle Park and Montgomery.

Teams play three consecutive 45-minute games on Friday, with selected teams advancing to Saturday’s playoff rounds. Friday’s morning session starts at 9 a.m., followed by an afternoon session at 1 p.m.

Sports Photo Gallery
Rate This Article 0 vote(s)
Average Vote 0/5
Leave Comment

(will not be published)


The Star-News | 296 3rd Ave., Chula Vista, CA 91910 | Phone: 619-427-3000 | Fax: 619-426-6346 | info@thestarnews.com| Site Feedback| Corporate