? The Star-News | Chula Vista Star News

use comma(,) if mutliple email addresses i.e(friend@domain.com, friend2@domain.com)

Otay Ranch spikers set the pace in post-season awards Phillip Brents | Thu, Jun 13 2013 01:30 AM

The Otay Ranch Mustangs boys volleyball team might not have won this year’s state championship but the three-time defending San Diego Section Division I champions did earn their share of praise.

Perhaps the lion’s share.

The Mustangs, who finished the season 33-5, placed three players on the Division I all-section team (the top 12 players for Division I schools): seniors Jared Arias, Andrew Freiha and Adrian Ventura.

Freiha was further tabbed as the section’s Division I Player of the Year.
Arias was highly placed on the section’s all-academic team, representing boys volleyball.

Ventura, Freiha and Arias were selected to the all-section first team that represents the top 10 players in county regardless of schools size.

From that elite top 10 list, Freiha was chosen as the section’s player of the year. He was also accorded elite honors as a member of the American Volleyball Coaches Association Senior All-American First Team that denotes the top 10 players in the nation.
“Congratulations to all three seniors and to the entire program,” ORHS coach Tony Fajardo said. “These are all very special recognitions and we are all very proud.”

The Mustang family has to be especially proud of Freiha’s selection as an national senior All-American this year.

"We're very proud of Andrew's selection as to the AVCA All-American First Team,” Fajardo underscored. “We are very proud that our program has produced four senior All-Americans in the last six years. The award is a tribute to Andrew's individual accomplishments and our team's success this season. As arguably the top player in San Diego County and the region, Andrew deserves this very prestigious recognition as one of the top 10 players in the nation."

Freiha led Otay Ranch with 414 kills, 64 aces, 46 blocks while also collecting 188 digs

Arias ranked second on the team with 274 kills and 33 aces.

Ventura topped the three-time CIF champs with 866 assists while also registering 208 kills, 27 aces, 42 blocks and 187 digs

The Mustangs, seeded first among the section’s Division I teams in the playoffs, defeated the third-seeded Eastlake to claim this year’s division title.

Mesa League All-League Boys Volleyball Teams
First Team

Andrew Freiha (Otay Ranch), 12
Adrian Ventura (Otay Ranch), 12
Jared Arias (Otay Ranch), 12
Kai Valdevieso (Eastlake), 12
Marcus Buenviaje (Olympian), 12
Bryan Alegado (Eastlake), 10

Second Team
Ivan Sinclair (Eastlake), 12
Oscar Eberle (Eastlake), 12
Nohea Rose (Hilltop), 11
Frankie Estrada (Bonita Vista), 12
Michael Schmidt (Olympian), 12
Mitchell Duran (Otay Ranch), 12

Honorable Mention
Eddie Martinez (Bonita Vista), 12
Matt Pike (Bonita Vista), 12
Harvey Alegado (Eastlake), 12
Tim Aram (Eastlake), 12
Jameson Rolando (Hilltop), 12
Frank Valadez (Hilltop), 11
Erinn Logan (Olympian), 12
Daryl Joe Iverson (Olympian), 12
Brandon Gullaba (Otay Ranch), 12
Nick Gutierrez (Otay Ranch), 12
Paul Landeros (Bonita Vista), 11
Mar Cruz (Eastlake), 12
Danny Hendricks (Hilltop), 12
Oscar Gonzalez (Hilltop), 12

Player of the Year:
Andrew Freiha (Otay Ranch)
Championship team: Otay Ranch Mustangs

South Bay League All-League Boys Volleyball Teams
First Team

Terrill Williams (Montgomery), 11 
Omar Rodriguez (Montgomery), 12
Franklin Ebalida (Montgomery), 12
Adrian De La Vega (Chula Vista), 12
Joel Vado (Mar Vista), 12
Michael Thomas (San Ysidro), 12

Second Team

Juan Luna (Castle Park), 12
Jacob Julang-ay (Castle Park), 12
David Tschakert (Mar Vista), 11
Gabe Gonzalez (Mar Vista), 12
Nico Medellin (Mar Vista), 12
Michael Gloria (Sweetwater), 12

Honorable Mention

Luis Renteria (Sweetwater), 12

Ulises Mireles( Sweetwater), 11

Brendan Zuniga (San Ysidro), 12

Josue Ramirez (Chula Vista), 12

Sergio Ruiz (Chula Vista), 12

Christian Sotto (Montgomery), 10

Jamil Caldwell (Montgomery), 12

Jorge Ortiz (Montgomery), 10

Noah Ortiguerra (Southwest), 10

Jose Morales (Castle Park), 12    

Angel Gamez (Castle Park), 12
Mike Brown (Mar Vista), 12
Robert Tschakert (Mar Vista), 12

Player of the Year
: Terrill Williams (Montgomery)
Championship team: Montgomery Aztecs

Sports Photo Gallery
Rate This Article 0 vote(s)
Average Vote 0/5
Leave Comment

(will not be published)


The Star-News | 296 3rd Ave., Chula Vista, CA 91910 | Phone: 619-427-3000 | Fax: 619-426-6346 | info@thestarnews.com| Site Feedback| Corporate