? The Star-News | Chula Vista Star News

use comma(,) if mutliple email addresses i.e(friend@domain.com, friend2@domain.com)

Metro qualifiers advance in CIF girls golf championships Phillip Brents | Fri, Nov 02 2012 01:55 PM

The San Diego Section team and individual golf tournament got under way Tuesday at the Coronado Municipal course.

Eastlake, which edged Bonita Vista in finals play at the Admiral Baker North course on Oct. 23, qualified to represent the Mesa League in CIF team play. Also, six other girls going from the Mesa League and one from South Bay league participated.

The top eight teams and top 28 individuals  advanced on to the CIF finals on Thursday.

Participating for Eastlake were Michiko Rodelas, Lauren Wood, Samantha Anderson and Jessica Hoshina.

Individuals who qualified based on handicap during season play included Mater Dei Catholic’s Jessica Mangrobang and Natalia Olazabal, Bonita Vista’s Ellen Hart and Vivian Hiley, Hilltop’s Leanna Mena, Otay Ranch’s Jasmine Quick and Sweetwater’s Briana Rodriguez.

Mangrobang earned honors as the 2012 Mesa League Golfer of the Year while Rodriguez earned honors as the 2012 South Bay League Golfer of the Year.

Both advanced to Thursday’s section finals — Mangrobang shot a 72 and Rodriguez shot an 81 — along with Hart (82) and Mena (82).

The top two teams, plus the top 12 individuals not on those teams, advance to the Southern California regionals Thursday, Nov. 8, in Murrieta.

Mangrobang finished ninth with a two-day score of 149; Rodriguez participated in a three-way playoff for the final two spots, qualifying along with Del Norte's Paris Griffith at 153.

CIF tennis
Three Metro Conference teams qualified to participate in this year’s San Diego Section divisional team playoffs: San Ysidro (Division I), Hilltop (Division II) and Mater Dei Catholic (Division III).

Fifth-seeded Mater Dei (12-2)was the lone team to advance after defeating Santana, 14-4, in first round action on Oct. 23.

Fourth-seeded Del Norte (8-8) eliminated the Crusaders, 10-8, in the quarterfinals on Oct. 24.

San Ysidro (12-2) earned the No. 15 seed and was eliminated, 18-0, by second-seeded Torrey Pines.

Hilltop earned the No. 16 seed and was eliminated, 13-5, by No. 1 La Jolla.

High Tech Chula Vista (13-2) qualified in Division III, falling, 16-2, to sixth-seeded San Dieguito Academy in first-round play.

Mesa League Championship Finals
Oct. 23, at Admiral Baker North Course, par 73
First Team All-League

Jessica Mangrobang (Mater Dei Catholic) 78
Ellen Hart (Bonita Vista) 83
Michiko Rodelas (Eastlake) 86
Leanna Mena (Hilltop) 90
Vivian Hiley (Bonita Vista) 92
Jasmine Quick (Otay Ranch) 94

Second team all-league

Lauren Wood (Eastlake) 97
Natalia Olzabal (Mater Dei Catholic) 97
Samantha Anderson (Eastlake) 100
Carol Schroeder (Bonita Vista) 106
Isabelle Cabana (Otay Ranch) 107
Jan Pacleb (Olympian) 110

Golfer of the Year
Jessica Mangrobang (Mater Dei Catholic)

South Bay League Championship Finals
Oct. 24 at Chula Vista Municipal Golf Course, par 37
Oct. 23 at Bonita Golf Club, par 35
First Team All-League

Briana Rodriguez (Sweetwater) 75
Valerie Rodriguez (Southwest) 101
Cerissa Olguin (Chula Vista) 102
Lizette Arteaga (Chula Vista) 103
Lauren Benitez (Sweetwater) 105
Emily Longoria (Chula Vista) 108

 Second team all-league
Alison Lawyer (Southwest) 111
Delia Munoz (Chula Vista) 112
Yunueth Jimenez (Southwest) 114
Diana Hernandez (Sweetwater) 115
Christina Corona (Chula Vista) 116
Liliana Vazquez (Montgomery) 117

Golfer of the Year
Briana Rodriguez (Sweetwater)

Sports Photo Gallery
Rate This Article 0 vote(s)
Average Vote 0/5
Leave Comment

(will not be published)


The Star-News | 296 3rd Ave., Chula Vista, CA 91910 | Phone: 619-427-3000 | Fax: 619-426-6346 | info@thestarnews.com| Site Feedback| Corporate