? The Star-News | Chula Vista Star News

use comma(,) if mutliple email addresses i.e(friend@domain.com, friend2@domain.com)

Metro Conference scores most recognition in 6th senior boys water polo all-star game Phillip Brents | Fri, Dec 30 2011 01:12 PM

The Metro Conference posted its largest number of participants (six) in the county’s boys water polo senior all-star game since the event’s inception six years ago.

The 2011 event took place Dec. 3 at Coronado High School. Team rosters were divided between small schools and large schools.

The small campus team featured three area players: San Ysidro goalie Andres Escalante and Mar Vista field players Justin Patacsil and Jon Nicoloff.

The large campus team included three players from the Mesa League: attackers Adam Hilborn and Dylan Chase, both from Eastlake, and Hilltop utilityman Stuart Sokil.

“All did real well,” said Hilltop coach John Salts, who attended the game. “It was a close back-and-forth game until the third quarter when the large schools went on a dominating run that the small schools could not recover from. Still, it was a very exciting game. A lot of good water polo …”

The game pitted top high school seniors as selected by the coaches, officials and members of the San Diego County Aquatic Council.

Event organizers noted that many of the participants will play for some of the premier collegiate programs in the country next year. The teams were selected through a coaches poll at the conclusion of the San Diego Section playoffs.

Proceeds from the game are used for scholarships so that low-income youths can become lifeguards and swim instructors, a process that can be cost prohibitive for some teenagers.

It can cost as much as $400 to obtain the necessary certifications to be considered for a pool lifeguard position.
“One of the charms of the event is that while this might be a pinnacle of their high school career, the players who are selected are creating opportunities for other kids their age,” said Manuel Gonzalez, council president.


Adam Hilborn         Eastlake         12
Eric Hum             Eastlake         12
Dylan Chase         Eastlake         12
Stuart Sokil         Hilltop         12
Rodrigo Perez         Hilltop         12
Tanner Franklin         Hilltop         12
Rhett McGinty-Pitcock         Eastlake         12

Player of the Year: Adam Hilborn
Championship team: Eastlake Titans

Mike Tong             Eastlake         12
Josue Alvarez         Eastlake         11
Daniel Lord             Eastlake         11
Luis Ontiveros         Hilltop         12
Carlos Uribe         Hilltop         11
Devin Brocklehurst         Bonita Vista     12
Brian Porter         Eastlake        12

Giovanni Rude         Hilltop         12
Miko Martinez         Hilltop         12
Isaac Metta         Bonita Vista     12
Jorge Arredondo         Mater Dei Catholic     12
Tyler Plaza             Mater Dei Catholic     12
Gio Lucatero         Otay Ranch     12
Erwin Samson         Otay Ranch     12

Sports Photo Gallery
Rate This Article 0 vote(s)
Average Vote 0/5
Leave Comment

(will not be published)


The Star-News | 296 3rd Ave., Chula Vista, CA 91910 | Phone: 619-427-3000 | Fax: 619-426-6346 | info@thestarnews.com| Site Feedback| Corporate