? The Star-News | Chula Vista Star News

use comma(,) if mutliple email addresses i.e(friend@domain.com, friend2@domain.com)

All-Metro Mesa League football teams heavy with Eagles, Titans Phillip Brents | Fri, Dec 30 2011 01:26 PM

The 2011 high school football season will be remembered one as one of unparalleled bounty for one team in particular, the Olympian Eagles, who advanced to the San Diego Section Division III championship game at Qualcomm Stadium. The Eagles were richly decorated with post-season honors on the All-Metro Mesa League football team, particularly on defense.

The Eastlake Titans, who advanced to the Division I semifinals, also received their due recognition on the All-Mesa League team.

Eastlake junior running back Tavarus Green earned honors as the 2011 Mesa League Offensive Player of the Year while Olympian senior linebacker Santana Leomiti received accolades as the 2011 Mesa League Defensive Player of the Year.

Green rushed for 1,113 yards and scored 14 total touchdowns after moving into the lead backfield position with a season-ending injury to two-way star Jude Isbell.



All-Metro-Mesa League Football Teams


OL: Ramiro Ramirez         Olympian         12
OL: Mike Molina         Chula Vista         12
OL: Sean Fuimaono         Bonita Vista     12
OL: Gabe Casillas         Eastlake         12
OL: Arturo Hurtado         Eastlake         12
RB: Isaac Martinez         Chula Vista         12
RB: Tavarus Green         Eastlake         11
RB: Kevin Ehm         Olympian         12
QB: Josh Palet         Eastlake         12
WR: Sergio Bailey         Olympian         11
WR: Chris Martin         Otay Ranch     11
K/P: Devon Roncoroni         Bonita Vista     11

Player of the Year
Tavarus Green (Eastlake)

OL: Rey Tabbs         Olympian         11
OL: Kyle Norton         Olympian         12
 TE: Joseph Carpizo         Eastlake         11
TE: Brandon Nealy         Chula Vista         12
RB: Javonte Reed         Chula Vista         11
RB: Anthony Williams         Otay Ranch     10
RB: Ian Autman         Olympian         12
WR: Ray Holden         Chula Vista         11
WR: Richard Walker         Chula Vista         11
WR: Chris Moore         Bonita Vista     12


DL: James Duberg         Bonita Vista     12
DL: Nathan Mitchell         Eastlake         12
DL: Cedric Williams         Olympian         12
LB: Alex Toilolo         Chula Vista         12
LB: Blake Wilson         Eastlake         11
LB: Keifer Graham        Eastlake         10
LB: Santana Leomiti         Olympian         12
LB: Arturo Cuevas         Olympian         12
LB: Devon Flores         Olympian         12
DB: Asante Gibson         Olympian         12
DB: Jordan Peterson         Otay Ranch     11

Player of the Year
Santana Leomiti (Olympian)

DL: William Bobier         Otay Ranch     12
DL: Vadid Zavala         Chula Vista         11
DL: Lucky Sansano         Olympian         11
LB: James Adams        Otay Ranch     12
LB: Andre Jones         Otay Ranch     12
LB: Nasser Ali         Eastlake         10
LB: Rudy Jaimes         Chula Vista         12
DB: Tyrone Stephens         Eastlake         11
DB: Isiah Olave         Eastlake         10
DB: Adrian De La Vega         Chula Vista         11
DB: Rudy Segobia         Chula Vista         11
DB: Isaiah Gibson         Olympian         11


RB: John Matranga         Bonita Vista     12
DL: Steven Kavianian         Bonita Vista     12
QB: Jonathan Manjarrez     Bonita Vista     12
RB: Donovan Mendez         Chula Vista         12
LB: Hui Wolfgramm         Chula Vista         10
DB: Ma’ake Wolfgramm         Chula Vista         11
DB: Ronnie Cortell         Eastlake         12
WR: Darran Hall         Eastlake         12
OL: Braulio Gallegos         Eastlake         12
RB: Aikeem Foxworth         Olympian         11
OL: Gilbert Yorba         Olympian         11
QB: Christopher Humphrey     Olympian         11
OL: Mohammed Koachar     Otay Ranch     12
LB: Justin Doton         Otay Ranch     10
RB: David Mondy         Otay Ranch         12


            League     Overall

School            W-L    W-L-T
Olympian Eagles*        4-0    9-4-0
Eastlake Titans*        3-1    8-4-0
Chula Vista Spartans*        2-2    6-6-0
Otay Ranch Mustangs        1-3    5-5-0
Bonita Vista Barons*        0-4    3-7-1
*San Diego Section playoff qualifier

San Diego Section Playoffs
Division I

First round
(8) Chula Vista 30, (9) Escondido 0
(2) Eastlake 35, (10) San Diego 24
(1) Poway 42, (8) Chula Vista 14

(3) Vista 23, (2) Eastlake 21

Division II
First round

(7) Westview 48, (10) Bonita Vista 0

Division III
(3) Olympian 49, (11) Serra 7
(3) Olympian 40, (7) Mar Vista 8
(1) Cathedral Catholic 41, (3) Olympian 0


The Metro-Pacific and Metro-South Bay League all-league teams will be posted once they are received.

Sports Photo Gallery
Rate This Article 1 vote(s)
Average Vote 5/5
Leave Comment

(will not be published)


The Star-News | 296 3rd Ave., Chula Vista, CA 91910 | Phone: 619-427-3000 | Fax: 619-426-6346 | info@thestarnews.com| Site Feedback| Corporate