? The Star-News | Chula Vista Star News

use comma(,) if mutliple email addresses i.e(friend@domain.com, friend2@domain.com)

2010 high school girls volleyball all-league teams honored Phillip Brents | Sat, Jan 01 2011 01:07 AM


Jenelle Hudson earned honors as the 2010 Mesa League girls volleyball Player of the Year and Sweetwater freshman Kimberly Gutierrez earned honors as the 2010 South Bay League Player of the Year, as announced in conjunction with the San Diego Hall of Champions.


Bonita Vista and Eastlake finished as Mesa League co-champions, each with 9-1 league records, while Castle Park finished as the South Bay League champion.


Bonita Vista and Eastlake each received three first team all-league selections.



2010 Girls Volleyball

Mesa League All-League Selections

First Team

Brenna Bailey (Eastlake) 11

Jenelle Hudson (Bonita Vista) 11

Chelsea Speaks (Eastlake) 10

Miranda Turner (Hilltop) 12

Malia Valdivieso (Eastlake) 12

Megan Wright (Bonita Vista) 11


Second Team

Megan Angerstein (Otay Ranch) 9

Skye Compton (Otay Ranch) 9

Cindy Fifield (Eastlake) 12

Rachel Lopez (Bonita Vista) 12

Kamene Rose (Hilltop) 12

Carlee Wood (Otay Ranch) 10


Player of the Year

Jenelle Hudson (Bonita Vista)


Championship Teams


Bonita Vista Barons

Eastlake Titans


Mesa League Standings
Bonita Vista Barons 9-1

Eastlake Titans 9-1

Otay Ranch Mustangs 5-5

Hilltop Lancers 5-5

Mater Dei Catholic Crusaders 2-8

Chula Vista Spartans 0-10


South Bay League All-League Selections

First Team

Kimberly Gutierrez (Sweetwater) 9

Jocelyne Rojas (Castle Park) 10

Ariana Trammell (Mar Vista) 12

Alexis Webb (Mar Vista) 12

Caitlynn King (Olympian) 10

Sinaaletoelau Siatuu (Montgomery) 11


Second Team

Darien Beltran (Castle Park) 12

Jessica Mendoza (Castle Park) 12

Catheryne Wright (Olympian) 11

Rachel Tibbets (Montgomery) 11

Patricia Castruita (San Ysidro) 11

Meghan Penolio (Mar Vista) 11


Player of the Year

Kimberly Gutierrez (Sweetwater)


Championship Team

Castle Park Trojans




Frontier South League All-League Selections

First Team

Laura Martinez (Chula Vista High Tech High) 12

Julia Roche (Chula Vista High Tech High) 11

Maryam Atty (Liberty) 10

Nichole Swafford (Liberty) 11

Samantha Miramontes (Kuyper Prep) 11

Patrica Tauanuu (Gompers) 11


Second Team

Isabella Martinez (Chula Vista High Tech High) 12

Justina Leasau (Gompers) 9

Kaelah Lyons (Kuyper Prep) 10

Dana Romero (Calexico Mission) 9

Rosie Magana (Liberty Charter) 9

Jesse Harrison (Health Sciences) 11


Player of the Year

Laura Martinez (Chula Vista High Tech High)



Sports Photo Gallery
Rate This Article 0 vote(s)
Average Vote 0/5
Leave Comment

(will not be published)


The Star-News | 296 3rd Ave., Chula Vista, CA 91910 | Phone: 619-427-3000 | Fax: 619-426-6346 | info@thestarnews.com| Site Feedback| Corporate