use comma(,) if mutliple email addresses i.e(friend@domain.com, friend2@domain.com)

Public vies for spot on watchdog group Robert Moreno | Sat, Feb 11 2017 12:00 PM

Twenty nine people have applied as at-large members to sit on the committee that will oversee the spending of about $176 million in projected revenue over the next 10 years for infrastructure repairs.

At-large members are Chula Vista residents; only five members will be selected to sit on the committee.

Those applicants are: Javier Angulo, Maria Ester Balolong, Monica Bonilla, Martin Calvo, Abel Cordero, Paul Crawford, John Cressler, Jose Doria, Jennifer Ficacci, Walter Fisher, Mona Freels, Jesus Gonzalez, Bertha Hernandez, Leonardo Hernandez, Lisa July, Francesca Keller, Hector Martinez, Ruben Osorio, Steven Pavka, Jason Prater, Christopher Redo, Juan Salas, Christopher Sheridan, Shauna Stokes, Joshua Summers, Jerome Torres, Librado Villalobos, Brandon Westover and Paula Whitsell.

Torres, the former chairman to the Chula Vista District Commission, said he is interested in sitting on the oversight committee because he can provide an unbiased perspective.

“I thought the committee could use an objective voice that isn’t beholden to special interest,” he said.

Torres said he voted in favor of Measure P, and that he also applied as an at-large member because he wanted to make sure western Chula Vista received proper representation on the committee.

As part of November’s voter-approved Measure P, a 16- member oversight committee must be in place before the committee holds their first meeting on April 1.

Of the 16 members, 11 must be designated members coming from designated authorities. Designated members are members nominated by local organizations and individuals such as the Chula Vista Chamber of Commerce and the Youth Sports Council.

The Alliance of Californians for Community Empowerment nominated Lileana Robles and Susanna Juarez. The Chula Vista Chamber of Commerce nominated  former Chula Vista Councilman Steve Miesen. Chula Vista Fire Chief Jim Geering nominated Vinson; with Police Chief Roxana Kennedy nominated Don Hunter.  Growth Management Oversight Committee nominated Rodney Caudillo, Duaine Hooker and Michael Lengyel. Public Works Director Rick Hopkins nominated Leon Frisht. The San Diego County Taxpayers’ Association nominated Todd Voorhees. Chula Vista Sustainability Commission nominated three people Robert Coleman, Sassan Rahimzadeh and Oscar Romo. Youth and Sports Council nominated Scott Waddle and Silvestre Vigillante. San Diego-Labor Council nominated David Garcias.
Nominees have until Feb. 15 to submit their application for their candidacy.  On Feb. 21, council members will make nominations to interview nominations to interview at-large seats; applicants receiving two or more nominations will be considered finalists.

The responsibilities of the oversight committee includes drafting an annual report, and reviewing the finance department’s spending reports to ensure the revenue from the tax is being spent appropriately towards infrastructure and public safety – not on other expenses since the money will directly go into the city’s general fund.

The commission will be established to ensure the city council spends the money on infrastructure as it said it would.

Rate This Article 0 vote(s)
Average Vote 0/5
Leave Comment

(will not be published)


The Star-News | 296 3rd Ave., Chula Vista, CA 91910 | Phone: 619-427-3000 | Fax: 619-426-6346 | info@thestarnews.com| Site Feedback| Corporate